< All Events

When We Become Ours Reading & Discussion


Open to the public


November 29, 2023 7:00 PM







Join Also-Known-As and the Asian American Writers' Workshop in person to celebrate When We Become Ours: A YA Adoptee Anthology, edited by Nicole Chung and Shannon Gibney. 

The first of its kind, When We Become Ours is a powerful and poignant story collection written by and for adoptees in a variety of styles and genres. Our celebration will feature a reading plus thoughtful discussion with contributors Rebecca Carroll, Lisa Nopachai, Matthew Salesses, and Eric Smith, moderated by Lily Philpott.

This in-person event will also be live-streamed for folks who are outside of the NYC area. RSVPs are required for all attendees and there is an in-person limit of 50 max. MASKS ARE REQUIRED FOR ALL IN-PERSON ATTENDEES.

This event is graciously sponsored by the Asian American Writers’ Workshop. Books will be available for purchase and signing, thanks to Yu and Me Books.

About When We Become Ours

“An emotion-filled collection.” —Kirkus Reviews

Two teens take the stage and find their voice . . .

A girl learns about her heritage and begins to find her community . . .

A sister is haunted by the ghosts of loved ones lost . . .

There is no universal adoption experience, and no two adoptees have the same story. This anthology for teens edited by Shannon Gibney and Nicole Chung contains a wide range of powerful, poignant, and evocative stories in a variety of genres.

These tales from fifteen bestselling, acclaimed, and emerging adoptee authors genuinely and authentically reflect the complexity, breadth, and depth of adoptee experiences. This groundbreaking collection centers what it's like growing up as an adoptee. These are stories by adoptees, for adoptees, reclaiming their own narratives.

With stories by: Kelley Baker, Nicole Chung, Shannon Gibney., Mark Oshiro, MeMe Collier, Susan Harness, Meredith Ireland, Mariama J. Lockington, Lisa Nopachai, Stefany Valentine, Matthew Salesses, Lisa Wool-Rim Sjöblom, Eric Smith, Jenny Heijun Wills, and Sun Yung Shin. Foreword by Rebecca Carroll and afterword by JaeRan Kim, MSW, PhD.

< All Events